Seafood Stars Awards

Each year, the New Zealand seafood industry pays tribute to the men, women and organisations who make significant contributions to the seafood sector.

The Awards, now in their fourth year, are presented at the annual Seafood conference to those who showcase innovation and excellence in the following three categories:


Future Development Innovation Award:

Presented to the entity that has developed a new technology that does one of the following;

·       reduces waste by adding value to by-products or waste, or

·       reduces adverse impacts on the marine environment from fishing or farming seafood, or

·       reduces adverse impacts of fishing or farming seafood on protected species, or

·       increases the efficiency of seafood production, or

·       makes a significant contribution to health or science


Longstanding Service Award:

Presented to a person who has demonstrated that he or she has made a substantial positive difference to the seafood industry over many years, and who has been a highly effective and respected seafood industry leader.


Young Achiever Award:

Presented to a person, 35 years of age or under, who has demonstrated that he or she has made a positive difference to the seafood industry and has the potential to continue to develop as an effective and respected seafood industry leader or role model.


COVID-19 Response Award:

In recognition of the seafood sector’s efforts during the pandemic, a fourth award has been created.

This award is presented to a person or organisation who has gone above and beyond during the COVID-19 response by;

a.       maximising staff and/or public safety while maintaining operations during COVID-19 restrictions; or

b.       implementing new and innovative ways of operating safely to get product to market


Due to COVID-19, the 2020 conference has been cancelled, however, the awards will continue, with winners announced in the August edition of the Seafood magazine.

Nominations close 30 June 2020.

To make a nomination, download and submit the nomination form.

Questions regarding the awards can be sent to